Daily Prompt: Man, you are just a mortal!

via Daily Prompt: Ostentatious

Man, you are just a mortal!

Blessed with a brain to think,

And a mind to imagine the unseen,

But with a body, slowly rotting,

Soon to succumb to the grips of Death

Who awaits at your doorstep.

Man, you are just a mortal!

Who conquers lands and the celestial globes,

And builds and drops the atom bombs,

But consumed by the devilish greed,

You’re deaf to what the legends preach,

Your conscience muffled to an ominous silence.

Man, you are just a mortal!

Evolved to contemplate and attain

The highest truth to ever remain.

But, alas, slave you are to your senses!

You’ve cloaked your true self with pretenses,

Trapped in the monstrous maze of vices.

Man, you are just a mortal!

Born with a heart to love anew,

In a desperate world to reach out to.

So, stop this ostentatious display!

And submerge in generosity each day.

May simplicity be your favored way!

Surya Ramachandran


Ostentatious


Image from Public Domain :

Venetian Carnival Mask by gnuckx

13 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Man, you are just a mortal!

  1. Hi,
    I thought the poem was kind of sad because everything you wrote about morals are true. You move me to sadness and realization with your words.
    Congratulations on being Danny Ray’s featured blogger. I was just featured blogger too. Maybe you can check out my blog if you need a blogging tip or two. That’s what I write about.
    I brought you the link to my about page, so you can more about my blog and. Also, my avatar takes you to the wrong site.
    http://wp.me/P6x6vQ-89
    Like Danny, I have many blog parties each month.
    Janice

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Janice. I’m so glad you dropped by. I’m pretty new to blogging and I’m still in the process of discovering great blogs.I’m looking forward to your blog parties, which would certainly provide good opportunities to meet other bloggers and introduce myself as well. Thank you for the link. I’m sure I’ll find your tips really useful.
      And congratulations to you too! 😊

      Also, thanks for sharing your thoughts on the poem.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: How To Network Your Blog-11/27/16 | Dream Big, Dream Often

Leave a Reply

