The Yellow Rose

Do you remember, a year ago

You gave me a bright yellow rose?

It was adorned with morning dew

From your garden,fresh and new

On the day of the first anniversary

Of our friendship that looked so merry;

That yellow rose, I received with pure joy

Excited like a child with a shiny toy,

In a vase that was royal and exquisite,

I kept your rose, and devoured its sight.

Everyday, I used to sit by its side

Watching it with a secret pride

‘Cause I had the best Best friend

God could ever possibly lend.

But only ‘lend’ it was, what the Lord did

For by the tenth day the rose withered, and bid

Me  a silent, woeful goodbye forever!

And to grieve my aching heart further

The Lord took back the prize he had lent me,

The very Lord who we hail for his mercy!

So, do you now remember that yellow rose,

That I held to my dear heart, very close?

You probably do, and I can see you smile

Up from the Lord’s heavenly isle,

As I finally come here to your last home

To gift you my rose of yellow chrome…

Surya Ramachandran


Different roses have different meaning. While red rose stands for romantic love and passion, Yellow rose symbolizes friendship. White roses signifies tranquility, peace and spirituality. You might like my poem The White Rose , which is loosely based on the spiritual significance of white roses.

With love,

Surya 😊

Featured Image from :

2014/365/82 The Yellow Rose of Vermont by Alan Levine

Yellow

5 thoughts on “The Yellow Rose

  1. Couldn’t help noticing.. this is exceptionally real.. the words look too real to be made up based on a daily prompt.. pardon me if I am being too honest , but after The Poet , stumbling over this one.. I do sense reality..

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Ignotus!
      Actually, this one was purely made up. The daily prompt gave me an idea to write a post on yellow rose as a sequel to ‘The White Rose’ ..(I might make it into ‘The Roses’ series one day..who knows?)..Frankly, I was about to turn this friendship poem into that of betrayal and loss, just like my other friendship posts. But then I realized that I was being too negative, dwelling on my own personal experience. Just because I didn’t have the joy of experiencing true and intimate friendship, doesn’t mean such a thing doesn’t exist.. A lot of us might have experienced the agony of losing someone special to Death. So I asked myself this question: “What if I had a real friend who was truly my best buddy..someone who cherished me as much as I cherished her? And what if Death took her away from me”?..This poem evolved as an answer to that question.

      Nevertheless, I hope you enjoyed reading this poem.

      -Surya😊

      Like

  2. Pingback: Quotes ‘n’ Thoughts #4 : Friend – The peepal

Leave a Reply

